Events ///
International Symposium: Is there a future beyond shrinking?
February 11, 2007 (Sun), 1:30 – 6:30 pm
Philipp Oswalt, Curator of the exhibition "Shrinking Cities", and city planner Hidetoshi Ohno, with his vision of the future of the capital region Tokyo, discuss the phenomenon of “shrinkage” with city planner Kei Minohara and Prof. Riichi Miyake.
The University of Tokyo, Hongo Campus
New Faculty of Engineering Bldg. 2
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo
Participation fee: 1,000 Yen

Talk Ins /// On the weekends, nine rounds of talks on the future of shrinking cities will be held at the exhibition:

January 28 (Sun)                
"Designing Time"
Jin HIDAKA & Satoru YAMASHIRO (The University of Tokyo)

February 2 (Fri)
"Ideas of the Future of the Cities"
Takeru KITAZAWA (The University of Tokyo)

February 3 (Sat)
"Long-Lasting Architecture"
Masataka BABA (Architect)

February 4 (Sun)
"Residence and Community"
Youko KINOSHITA (Nihon University)

February 9 (Fri)
"Information design and its communal roots"
Yasushi WATANABE (Collaborative Knowledge Laboratory)

February 10 (Sat)                
"Forest and Water"
Toru MITANI (Chiba University)

February 16 (Fri)
"Residents and Urban Renewal"
Masami KOBAYASHI (Meiji University)

February 17 (Sat)
"Mobilizing regional Energies"
Motomu UNO (Chiba University

February 18 (Sun)
"Service for a pleasant city"
Hiroshi OHTA (The University of Tokyo)

All Talk Ins: Fri 5 – 8:30 pm, Sat, Sun 2 – 5:30 pm
AKIBA QUARE, Akihabara UDX, 2F
Single ticket 1,000 Yen, Pass (for any number of events*) 3,000 Yen (*registration nonetheless necessary)

Registration for all events: S x F @ A Organization office, E-Mail: info*at*, Fax: +81 (3) 5467-2646